Skip to main content

Three Honor Societies Hold Saturday Induction Ceremonies

Three Pennsylvania College chapters of honor societies held induction ceremonies on main campus Saturday,celebrating more than 90 new members for their academic achievement.

Phi Theta Kappa
Fifty-six students were inducted into the college’s Beta Epsilon Upsilon Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society for students enrolled in two-year academic majors. Each semester, invitation to membership is extended by the chapter to students without advanced degrees who hgave completed at least 12 hours of course work leading to an associate degree in which they have a grade-point average of 3.5.

Co-advisers Anne K. Soucy (front row, left) and Susan Slamka (standing behind her) and guest speaker Mary Nickle (right) gather with new PTK inductees in the ACC lobby. This year’s Penn College inductees, many of whom attended an 11 a.m. ceremony in the Klump Academic Center Auditorium, are:

Lance E. Armstrong, Muncy; Svetlana Y. Babakova, New Columbia; Michael K. Becker, Watsontown; James R. Belcher, Wyalusing; Heather B. Bernard, Williamsport; Garrett M. Book, Lebanon; Jonathan E. Bresnock, Williamsport; Gabrielle E. Bricker, Etters; Kyle B. Brown, Loysburg; Kristi M. Byrne, Lock Haven.

Carlene L. Cabot, Jersey Shore; Vincent L. Charles, Watsontown; Kristina C. Dalsey, Blue Bell; Paul A. Deevy, Harleysville; Laura A. Donnelly, Williamsport; Christopher J. Durr, Bryn Mawr; David J. Ellison, Williamsport; Shawn M. Ernst, Port Allegany; Tammy S. Folmar, Montoursville; Danielle N. Frontz, Allenwood.

Mary Nickle, Phi Theta Kappa's state president for the Middles States Region, welcomes the newest members of the Pennsylvania Xi Chapter at Penn College.Jesse E. Fye, Punxsutawney; Shanna D. Fry, South Williamsport; Molly G. Goldsmith, Liberty; Vincent P. Governali, Blakeslee; Sandra O. Grafius, South Williamsport; Rory K. Kania, Hanover Township; Robert J. Lamb, Lansing, N.Y.; Aaron J. Limrick, Commodore; Shane A. MacCary, Ocean, N.J.; Justin T. Mann, North Haven, Conn.

Michelle K. Mertes, Williamsport; Alisha R. Morin, Richfield; Gregory J. Mulherin, Southampton; Matthew D. Nason, Williamsport; Kyle J. Norek, Portville, N.Y.; Joshua A. Payne, Pottsville; Kevin M. Payonk, Clearfield; Nadja M. Politza, Mount Carmel; Erin M. Price, Landenberg; Nancy A. Pysher, Williamsport.

Andrew C. Reisinger, Stockholm, N.J.; Arica L. Ross, Canton; Elizabeth M. Runyan, Bloomsburg; Geoffrey I. Scheller, Montoursville; Erica L. Schreffler, Williamstown; Frank J. Sergi, Ronkonkoma, N.Y.; Laura M. Serrano, Bellefonte; Terri A. Smith, Hatfield; Gabriel J. Unger, Athens; Chantelle R. Waldman, Williamsport.

Penn College President Davie Jane Gilmour (center) joins the 2009-10 inductees into the college's Pennsylvania Xi Chapter of Alpha Chi. Benjamin A. Walk, Montgomery; Courtney A. Whitton, Tionesta; Laura B. Wiest, Fredericksburg, Md.; Lennie K. Yoder, Liberty; Tami L. Yoder, Middleburg; and Ashley M. Young, Williamsport.

The guest speaker for the morning was Mary Nickle, PTK’s state president for the Middles States Region. Also participating were Davie Jane Gilmour, Penn College president; co-advisers Anne K. Soucy, assistant dean of construction and design technologies, and Susan Slamka, assistant professor of human services/psychology; Sheila Kramer, chapter president; and Tom Gregory, associate vice president for instruction.

Alpha Chi President Gilmour captures a family memory for Andrew T. Koskie and his parents.
President Gilmour and Gregory also offered remarks at the Alpha Chi ceremony, held at 1 p.m. in the Thompson Professional Development Center’s Mountain Laurel Room. Twenty-four new members were welcomed into membership with the Pennsylvania Xi Chapter, which is open to bachelor-degree students from all academic disciplines and limited to the top 10 percent of an institution’s junior and senior classes.

The 2009-10 inductees are: Tammy M. Bergquist, Montoursville; Hope E. Bitner, Howard; Ronca L. Boyd, Williamsport; Benjamin H. Clark, Chadds Ford; Amy S. Dibble, Montoursville; Christopher D. Dolan, Hughesville; John T. Edinger II, New Columbia; Michael S. Fegley, Pine Grove; Mukesh K. Harry, South Ozone Park, N.Y.; Skye L. Haupt, Selinsgrove.

Nathan A. Hyde, Jersey Shore; Stephanie J. Irvine, Titusville; Justin M. Kershaw, Sewell, N.J.; Andrew T. Koskie, Williamsport; Thomas J. Mallonee; Halifax; Nadena Nykaza, Scott Township; Anthony J. Quindardo, Meadville; Joseph R. Raup, Trout Run; Matthew Romanowski, Bethlehem; Brian J. Schlener, Northampton.

The newest members of the Lambda Nu Chapter of Delta Mu Delta are joined by Gayle Kielwein, vice president/secretary (left), and Joseph R. Raup, chapter president (right). Dena M. Sigler, Bedford; Matthew B. Stever, Red Hill; Cameron A. Sweigart, Elizabethtown; and Hannah M.Yates, Williamsport.

Delta Mu Delta
Joining the Lambda Nu Chapter of Delta Mu Delta, an international honor society for business students in the top 20 percent of their respective class, are: David R. Bailey, Muncy; James F. Bowes, Montoursville; Chad Chervinsky, Williamsport; Dibble, next year’s treasurer; Edinger, next year’s president; Deborah Ann Fassman, Nescopeck; Patricia J. Haefner, Williamsport; Hyde, incoming vice president; Paula Neal, Canton, chapter secretary for 2010-11; Hannah Marie Peachey, Jersey Shore; and Nathanael J. Ranck, South Williamsport.

Raup presides over Delta Mu Delta ceremony. Taking part in the proceedings were adviser Gerri F. Luke, associate professor of business administration/marketing; Terry A. Girdon, department head for business administration in the School of Business and Computer Technologies; Raup, outgoing president; and Gregory.

Photos by Cindy Davis Meixel, photo editor

Subscribe to PCToday Daily Email