Skip to main content
Main Penn College Website

Ten Presented With ‘Penn College Awards’

Ten graduating students who have made outstanding contributions to their campus and surrounding communitywere presented with “Penn College Awards” during a banquet in their honor at Le Jeune Chef Restaurant on Thursday evening.

It was the ninth year for the “Penn College Awards,” which are presented to students who have been actively involved in campus life, have held leadership positions or who have made contributions to the college or community.

This year’s class represents a gamut of such selflessness, including − as outlined by nominators and presenters, both movingly and humorously − Resident Assistants and tutors, military and campus-government service, a youth-camp counselor and computer wizards, Orientation leaders and academic superstars and peer helpers . . . student leaders, all.

They were presented with their awards by Jill Landesberg-Boyle, vice president for student affairs.

The 2005 honorees:

  • Joshua M. Appleman, Hanover, computer information technology- data communications and networking ; introduced by Carolyn Strickland, director of student life
  • Nathaniel L. Baum, Elizabethtown, technology management; introduced by Irwin H. Siegel, associate professor of business administration/business law
  • Dusty J. Brooks , Renovo, legal assistant/paralegal; introduced by Timothy J. Mallery, director of residence life
  • John C. Browne Jr., Bethlehem, electronics engineering technology; introduced by Strickland
  • Kristin A. Campbell , Leesport, dental hygiene-health policy and administration; introduced by Tammy S. Clossen, assistant professor of dental hygiene
  • Philip Adam Erb , Hamlin, computer information technology-data communications and networking; introduced by Denise S. Leete, associate professor of computer science
  • Devin J. Gebhart, Gettysburg, business administration-management information systems; introduced by Strickland
  • Daniel Robert Little, Beacon Falls , Conn., computer information technology- data communications and networking; introduced by Mallery
  • Sindiso Nyathi, Baltimore , automotive technology management; introduced by Joette M. Siertle, program coordinator of student support services
  • Janice Vanna Tran, Long Valley , N.J., business administration-marketing; introduced by Siegel

Others involved in the program were Kimberly R. Henry, assistant director for student development; and Sabrena O’Keefe, chair of the Penn College Awards committee and president-elect of the Student Government Association.

Related Stories

The keystone of the Penn College pathway, centered over the honorees' names below Students
Addition to veterans park reflects college collaboration
Read more
Bill Byham (left, in a photo taken by Lycoming College for his 2013 enshrinement in the institution's Athletics Hall of Fame) and Tom Speicher Students
Students to benefit from co-author’s tribute to late mentor
Read more
In a mechatronics lab at Pennsylvania College of Technology, student Andrew C. Caffrey gains industrial electricity skills at a portable, modular trainer featuring components purchased with PPL grant funds. Caffrey, of Denver, Pennsylvania, is enrolled in automation engineering technology: mechatronics. Students
PPL provides funding for mechatronics trainer components
Read more