Skip to main content

Students Earn American Welding Society Scholarships

Sara Crawford was among the scholarship winners from Penn College.Eight Pennsylvania College of Technology students have earned 10 district-level scholarships from the American Welding Society for the 2005-06 academic year.

The scholarship recipients are:

District 2 (Long Island, N.Y.; New Jersey; New York; and Philadelphia) Eric J. Belokostolsky, Warwick, N.Y.; Ethan A. Hayden, North Brunswick, N.J.; and Benjamin J. Vivian, Budd Lake, N.J.

District 3(Central and eastern Pennsylvania; Washington, D.C.; parts of Maryland and Virginia)Sara M. Crawford, Eldred; Michael J. Metzmaier, McMurray; and Timothy J. Schanken, Westminster, Md.

District 6(New York and parts of northern Pennsylvania)Sara M. Crawford, Eldred; and Gregory J. Gerwitz, Cuba, N.Y.

District 7(Southwestern Pennsylvania, western and southeastern Ohio, eastern Indiana, northeast Kentucky, West Virginia)Michael J. Metzmaier,McMurray

District 10(Northwestern Pennsylvania, northeastern Ohio) Stephanie J. Irvine, Titusville

Crawford and Metzmaier earned scholarships in both their hometown districts and in District 3, which includes Penn College’s American Welding Society student chapter.

Of the 136 scholarships awarded by districts nationwide, Penn College students received more than any other school.

The AWS Foundation provides scholarship funds to each district to promote welding careers and to help students who wish to pursue studies in welding or related fields. The AWS Foundation was established to support programs that ensure the growth and development of the welding industry. Scholarship recipients are selected annually at AWS district conferences.

For more information about the academic programs offered by the School of Industrial and Engineering Technologies at Penn College, call (570) 327-4520, send e-mail or visit online .

Subscribe to PCToday Daily Email.