Skip to main content
Main Penn College Website

Student Awards Presented to December Graduates

Pennsylvania College of Technology has presented student achievement awards to its December 2005 graduates. The award winners − and their addresses and academic majors − are:

President’s Award, for leadership and service to the college: Ryan K. Zimmerman, South Williamsport, computer information technology-data communications and networking.

Board of Directors’ Award, for achievement under exceptional conditions: Dusty Jean Brooks, Lock Haven, legal assistant/paralegal studies.

The Academic Vice President and Provost’s Award, for scholastic achievement and service: Jennifer Rae McHenry, Lock Haven, culinary arts technology.

Lewis H. Bardo Memorial Award, for a student who exemplifies the ideals of Lewis H. Bardo (devotion to duty, helpfulness to others, friendliness, and high ideals): Andrew Joseph Hamelly, Jackson Center, residential construction management.

Alpha Chi PA Xi Chapter Award, presented to a graduating student who is an active member in good standing of Alpha Chi and who has provided outstanding leadership and service to the Penn College PA Xi Chapter of Alpha Chi: Ryan K. Zimmerman, South Williamsport, computer information technology-data communications and networking.

Phi Beta Lambda Fraternity Award, for performance and dedication to the fraternity: Alexander Kantor, Harrisburg, information technology-web and applications development.

Information Technology Faculty Award, for scholastic achievement, work ethic, character, contribution to the department and contribution to fellow students: Ryan K. Zimmerman, South Williamsport, computer information technology-data communications and networking; Jonathan Michael Franconi, Shavertown, information technology-network technology; Stephanie Anne O’Hargan, Williamsport, computer information technology-analysis and design (August 2005 graduate).

West Branch Susquehanna Builders Association Award, to the student(s) in the final semester of their major(s) in building construction technology-masonry, construction carpentry, cabinetmaking, electrical technology and heavy construction equipment technology, with outstanding grade-point averages, strong work ethic, ability to communicate well with faculty and a strong commitment to the residential building industry. Faculty in the Construction Department of the School of Construction and Design Technologies are responsible for nominations and selections: Andrew Joseph Hamelly, Jackson Center, residential construction management.

Chef Leah Chase Excellence in Hospitality Award, presented to the nontraditional student who demonstrates Chef Chase’s commitment to: being a positive role model for the hospitality industry; work and scholastic excellence; stewardship of personal and professional resources; respect for self and others; and sharing the School of Hospitality’s mission of exemplifying and promoting excellence, opportunity and leadership in hospitality education: James Michael Zartman, South Williamsport, culinary arts technology.

Hospitality Faculty Award, presented to the graduate who demonstrates academic achievement and exemplifies professionalism and a commitment to excellence in Hospitality: Rachel Suzanne Hall, Altoona, culinary arts technology.

Penn College Machine Shop Faculty Award, for a graduating student in the two- or four-year-degree machine shop majors who exemplifies the college’s philosophy of excellence and exhibits devotion to duty, helpfulness to others and friendliness: Derek A. Harter, Snow Shoe, automated manufacturing technology.

Penn College Welding Faculty Award, for a graduating student in the two- or four-year-degree welding majors who exemplifies the college philosophy of excellence: Andrew Michalov, Sussex, N.J., welding and fabrication engineering technology.

Robert G. Thomas Award, for the graduating student who has attained the highest cumulative average in welding: Michael Ryan Byers, Lewistown, welding.

American Infrastructure Award, to the top performing student in heavy construction equipment technology-operator: Dustin M. Manross, Williamsport, heavy construction equipment technology-operator.

Alfred L. Hauser Sr. Memorial Award, student achievement award for a graduating student in the two-year automated manufacturing or the four-year manufacturing engineering technology major who exemplifies the college’s philosophy of excellence: Jeffrey Thomas Kukuchka, Tunkhannock, manufacturing engineering technology.

Related Stories

Diesel technology students are shown with CSTK-donated Thermo King refrigeration units at Pennsylvania College of Technology’s Schneebeli Earth Science Center. From left are Mike J. Lawson Jr., of Millville, New Jersey; Dawson F. Paulo, of Tamaqua; and Dalton I. Shearer, of New Columbia. Paulo has petitioned to graduate at the conclusion of the spring semester and begins a job with CSTK on May 17. Students
CSTK donates refrigeration units for diesel technology program
Read more
Chef, consultant and TV personality Brian Duffy (center) headlines Bacon Fest with assistance from culinary arts technology students Palin J. Hurst (left) and Charlie Suchanec. Students
Students join ‘swine and dine’ fun at brewery’s BaconFest
Read more
Spring splendor is in full bloom with this glorious line of Bradford pear trees at the Bush Campus Center.  Students
Where campus beauty is a natural fact
Read more