Skip to main content
Main Penn College Website

Penn College Presents Awards to December Graduates

Pennsylvania College of Technology, a special mission affiliate of The Pennsylvania State University, has presented awards to its December 2007 graduates.

The awards, the students and the students’ academic majors follow.

President’s Award, presented for leadership and service to the college: Travis James Clawson, Clarksburg, computer information technology-Internetworking application development.

Board of Directors’ Award, presented for achievement under exceptional conditions: Dennis Ray Berfield, South Williamsport, technology management.

The Academic Vice President and Provost’s Award, presented for scholastic achievement and service: Cherise Elaine Krum, Catawissa, technology management.

Lewis H. Bardo Memorial Award, presented to a graduate who exemplifies the ideals of Lewis H. Bardo (devotion to duty, helpfulness to others, friendliness and high ideals): Susan Kay Forester, Muncy, accounting.

Lepley, Engleman and Yaw Award, presented to the graduate of the legal assistant/paralegal major with the highest grade-point average: Jessica Kessler, Beavertown, legal assistant/paralegal.

Lycoming Law Association Award, presented to the graduate of the legal assistant/paralegal associate-degree major who had the highest grade-point average and who was a Lycoming County resident prior to enrollment in and during completion of the program: Jennifer M. Doane, Williamsport, legal assistant/paralegal.

Chef Leah Chase Excellence in Hospitality Award, presented to a nontraditional graduate who demonstrates Chef Chase’s commitment to being a positive role model for the hospitality industry; work and scholastic excellence; stewardship of personal and professional resources; respect for self and others; and excellence and leadership in hospitality education: James B. Miller, South Williamsport, culinary arts technology.

Hospitality Faculty Award, presented to a graduate who demonstrates academic achievement, exemplifies professionalism, and is committed to excellence in hospitality: Theresa Ann White, Danville, baking and pastry arts.

Penn College Machine Shop Faculty Award, presented to a graduate of a two- or four-year automated manufacturing/machining/toolmaking major who exemplifies the college’s philosophy of excellence and exhibits devotion to duty, helpfulness to others and friendliness: Nathan M. Dwyer, Corning, N.Y., manufacturing engineering technology.

Penn College Welding Faculty Award, presented to a graduate of a two- or four-year welding major who exemplifies the college philosophy of excellence: Adam Michael Rodkey, Armagh, welding technology.

Robert G. Thomas Award, presented to the graduate who has attained the highest cumulative average in welding: Adam Michael Rodkey, Armagh, welding technology.

Related Stories

Recently awarded $5,000 scholarships from the Pennsylvania Landscape and Nursery Association Foundation are (from left) Pennsylvania College of Technology students Nick Bianchi, of Archbald; Rebecca Cornish, of Lewisburg; and Erick V. Kennedy, of Williamsport. (Photo by Carl J. Bower Jr.) Students
Green industry group honors three Penn College students
Read more
Calculator loan program benefits veteran, active-duty students
Read more