Skip to main content

Penn College Claims Fourth PSUAC Chancellor’s Cup

For the fourth year in a row, Pennsylvania College of Technology has won the Penn State University Athletic Conference Chancellor’s Cup. Penn College is the only school to ever hold it since its inception in 2009.

The cup is awarded to a member institution with the most accumulated points for the year. Points are awarded based on finish of each conference team. For 2011-12, the Wildcats had three conference championships and totaled six playoff berths.

“I’m really proud of our program,” said athletic director Scott E. Kennell. “It’s a testament of how hard both our coaches and students-athletes have worked all year. Even though it’s our fourth time winning the award, we do not take it for granted and will continue to work hard and strive for excellence.”

Penn College finished with 61.5 points. Other members and their point totals are Penn State Brandywine, 54.5; Penn State Hazleton, 53; Penn State Beaver, 53; Penn State Fayette, 48; Penn State Mont Alto, 47.5; Penn State Wilkes-Barre, 40.5; Penn State Greater Allegheny, 36; Penn State Scranton, 29; Penn State DuBois, 27; Penn State Schuylkill, 26; Penn State New Kensington, 25.5; Penn State York, 24.5; and Penn State Lehigh Valley, 3.

In the most recent United States Collegiate Athletic Association Director’s Cup standings, Penn College was sixth with 256 points. Lindenwood University at Belleville, Ill., was at the top with 510 points, followed by Southern Virginia University at Buena Vista, Va., 451.5; Rochester (Mich.) College, 384; Spalding (Ky.) University, 333; and SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry in Syracuse, N.Y., 277. Tied for seventh are New Hampshire Technical Institute and Washington Adventist in Takoma Park, Md., with 228 each; University of Maine Fort Kent, 224; and the Newport News (Va.) Apprentice School, 206.5.

During the 2011-12 school year, Lindenwood Belleville won championships in golf and men’s soccer, Spalding University took titles in baseball and softball, Oakwood (Ala.) University won in Division I men’s basketball and Andrews (Mich.) University in Division II men’s basketball, Concordia Selma (Ala.) College was the women’s basketball champ, SUNY ESF claimed the men’s cross-country crown and Southern Virginia the women’s cross-country title, University of Maine Fort Kent was the women’s soccer champ and Florida College the women’s volleyball winner.

The USCAA National Convention is scheduled June 3-6 in Virginia Beach, Va.

Vol. 10, No. 41

Subscribe to PCToday Daily Email.