Skip to main content

Penn College Announces Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2013

Pennsylvania College of Technology has announced the 2013 inductees for its Athletics Hall of Fame.

The class is the second to be inducted after being established in 2012 by Athletic Director Scott E. Kennell.

“We have another great class of inductees,” Kennell said. “Penn College has had some unbelievable athletes and coaches in its rich athletic history.  I’m looking forward to honoring and celebrating their accomplishments once again this fall.”

The inductees are Shawn C. Naylor (Class of 1999), Dennis L. Dunkleberger, Adam N. Waigand (’05), Matthew R. Haile (’06), Michelle L. Wright (’07) and Maria Bova Strohl (’07).

The induction ceremony will be held Friday, Oct. 11, during Penn College Homecoming celebrations. Nominations for future induction classes can be made via the Athletics website.

The class of 2013:

Naylor was a two-year letter winner and two-time All-American for Penn College archery.  In those years, he was a member of three men’s compound championship teams and was the national male compound champion in 1999.  He was also a member of that year’s world team that won gold in Madrid, Spain.

Dunkleberger coached Penn College cross-country teams for eight years (1993-2000).  During that time, his teams produced six Pennsylvania Collegiate Athletic Association championships – three men’s and three women’s – as well as four individual champions.  His leadership of the team earned him Coach of the Year honors six times.

Waigand was a four-year letter winner for Penn College men’s soccer.  During his tenure, the defender helped the Wildcats to a 55-14-1 (.793) record, making three postseason appearances that included Eastern Pennsylvania Collegiate Conference and PCAA championships in 2004.  An All-State selection, he helped the defense record 15 shutouts in his last two years.

Haile was a four-year member of the Penn College golf team.  From 2002-06, he helped the Wildcats stay undefeated and capture PCAA and Commonwealth Campus Athletic Conference team championships.  In 2003, he was the conference individual champion – the first since 1982.  In addition, he was a four-time all-conference selection and medal winner.

Wright was a four-year letter winner for Penn College archery.  She was a member of the first women’s compound team in school history and a three-time All-American.  She led the team by placing second at the national championships and also was a member of the 2007 world team that traveled to Venezuela.

Strohl was a four-year letter winner for Penn College women’s volleyball. During that period, the libero helped the team amass a 71-23 (.755) record, as well as four championship appearances – including a title in 2004.  She was an all-conference selection and ranks fourth in career digs for Penn College with 249.

Subscribe to PCToday Daily Email.