Skip to main content

Induction Ceremonies Honor Students, Provost

Vice President for Academic Affairs%2FProvost Veronica M. Muzic was honored during the Alpha Chi induction ceremony.On March 25, Penn College held induction ceremonies for the Alpha Chi and Phi Theta Kappa honor societies and honored Veronica M. Muzic, vice president for academic affairs/provost, for her service to Alpha Chi.

More than 70 students accepted invitations to join Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society for students enrolled in associate-degree programs. Each semester, the chapter extends invitation to students who have completed at least 12 hours of course work leading to an associate degree and carry a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher.

Alpha Chi inducted 23 new members. One of the most elite honors a college student can earn, membership is limited to the top 10 percent of the junior and senior classes.

During Alpha Chi’s induction ceremony, adviser Irwin H. Siegel offered a surprise honor to Muzic, presenting her with a plaque to honor the important role she has played in the chapter’s success.

“She was instrumental in establishing our chapter of Alpha Chi and has been very supportive of our organization throughout the years,” Siegel said. “Of her, President (Davie Jane) Gilmour… asked me to say, ‘She is the master teacher, focused on students, and has left a legacy at the college that will live forever.'”

More than 70 associate-degree students accepted invitations to join Phi Theta Kappa. (Photo by student Carl F. Gravely)Inducted to Phi Theta Kappa were: Fafunke T. Agboola, Philadelphia; Brooke S. Allen, Avis; Ashley D. Avants, Troy; Amy B. Bastian, Mifflinburg; Danielle R. Beach, Columbia Crossroads; Adam J. Bennetch, Myerstown; Michael C. Bergstrom, Leola; Jacqueline S. Blaisdell, Sunbury; Jennifer L. Boor, Williamsport; Ryan J. Boutwell, Corry; Rachel M. Boyer, Lewisburg; Krista M. Callahan, Jersey Shore; Ashley L. Carls, Bradford; Amy L. Chapman, Williamsport; Angela V. Charcas, Deltona, Fla.; Terry M. Clark, Honesdale; Matthew T. Conaway, Bellefonte; Penny L. Dagitz, Montgomery; Lacey M. Daubert, Pine Grove; Stephanie A. Davies, Williamsport; Edward L. Detter, Dover; Matthew S. Diamond, Somerset; Amber L. Eastabrook, Wyalusing; Augustus Everhardt, Lansdale; Diann M. Fischer, Montoursville; Monica B. Freeman, Williamsport; Rosemary L. Glantz, Jersey Shore; Michael J. Goldstein, Williamsport; Nina M. Grossman, Jersey Shore; Rebecca A. Hovenstine, Williamsport; Scott J. Imler, Carlisle; Rene W. Kelly, Prince Frederick, Md.; Warrene R. Kemery-Reed, Winfield; Jessica M. Kessler, Beavertown; Julie L. Kintner, White Deer; Mallori E. Kistulentz, Hazleton; Jessica L. Kneedler, Beech Creek; Timothy A. Krohn, Selinsgrove; Amy R. Lanning, Jersey Shore; Jamie L. Lear, Cogan Station; Dawn M. Lipinksi, Williamsport; Monica A. Loner, Williamsport; Sheena M. Lucas, Williamsport; Tiffany L. Madara, Paxinos; Jason A. McCrabb, Glenside; Micah A. Metzel, Dallastown; Hannah E. Miles, Williamsport; Cathy J. Morrison, Williamsport; Bradley J. O’Connor, Highland Mills, N.Y.; Tracy J. Paul, Lewisburg; Vicki R. Paulhamus, Williamsport; Robert J. Paulhamus, Montoursville; Matthew W. Pfeiffer, Lancaster; Amy L. Prater, Hughesville; Daniel T. Reeder, Muncy; Gabriela R. Rinke, Williamsport; Andrew J. Rosenbaum, Stoystown; Danelle M. Selleck, Roaring Branch; Amanda J. Smith, Williamsport; Rodney T. Smith, Montoursville; Seth W. Snoddy, Allenwood; Levi R. Stauffer, Freeburg; Clifford P. Stewart Jr., Yardley; Jennifer C. Stinson, Williamsport; Stacey L. Wagner, Lewisburg; Shannon M. Weaver, Williamsport; Kayla Weidick, Sybertsville; Erin L. Weixel, Mill Hall; Samantha J. Wenrich, Middleburg; Justin D. Wilcott, Bloomsburg; Nicole L. Woodrow, Danville; Kay L. Wright, Beech Creek; Harriet E. Yoder, Montoursville; Scott J. Zenz, Bethlehem; and Jonathan M. Zook, Belleville.

Alpha Chi inducted juniors and seniors representing the top 10 percent of their classes.Inducted into Alpha Chi were: Jocelyn L. Beatty, Cogan Station; Marilyn E. Caldwell, Winston-Salem, N.C.; Stacy L. Condo, Lock Haven; Tacy L. DeGreen, Bloomsburg; James E. Deitrick, Turbotville; Kimberly A. Donahey, Bellefonte; Anthony A. Garritano, Altoona; Eric J. Hager, Mars; Eric M. Hammerschmidt, East Lansing, Mich.; Gail L. Hills, Williamsport; Ross M. Hoffman, Gardners; JoAnn M. Kinney, Montoursville; Joshua R. Lodge, Montrose; Ryan R. McCreary, Lancaster; Christopher E. Miller, Santa Fe, N.M.; Ryan K. Mostoller, Friedens; Jennie L. O’Connor, Hughesville; Sabrena A. O’Keefe, McClure; Samuel D. Ranck, South Williamsport; Brian D. Rice, Linden; Jennifer E. Winters, Montoursville; Michelle L. Yocum, Port Treverton; and John R. Yogodzinski III, Harveys Lake.

Subscribe to PCToday Daily Email.