From Horseless Carriage to Boundless Future

One of the longest-running instructional programs at Pennsylvania College of Technology – and one of the oldest continuous automotive programs in the nation – celebrated its 100th anniversary Friday in the Parkes Automotive Technology Center. “The story of American automobiling and the history of this college have been entwined throughout an eventful century,” said President Davie Jane Gilmour, as the college simultaneously marks its own Centennial, “and I have no doubt that the years ahead will be every bit as exciting.” A pair of speakers from the Ford Motor Co. put the milestone into perspective with engaging presentations on past and future: Robert C. Kreipke, corporate historian, and K. Venkatesh Prasad, group and senior technical leader for vehicle design and infotronics. The day also included an outdoor lunch for students, an antique-car show and an afternoon reception.

– Photos by Tom Wilson, writer/editor-PCToday

Countdown to the Centennial logo

2014 marks a milestone in the institution's rich history, from the inception of adult classes in the Williamsport Area School District in 1914, through its evolution into Williamsport Technical Institute, Williamsport Area Community College, and present-day Pennsylvania College of Technology. Read about the institution's history →

Pennsylvania College of Technology
One College Avenue
Williamsport, PA 17701


© 1995 Pennsylvania College of Technology. Penn College® and degrees that work® are registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.