Skip to main content
Main Penn College Website

College Presents Achievement Awards to December Graduates

Pennsylvania College of Technology has presented student achievement awards to its December 2009 graduates.

The award winners, their hometowns and academic majors are:

President’s Award, presented for leadership and service to the college: Micah A. Metzel, Dallastown, technology management.

Board of Directors’ Award, presented for achievement under exceptional conditions: Andrew Ross Chrisman, Selinsgrove, business administration: management concentration.

The Academic Vice President and Provost’s Award, presented for scholastic achievement and service: Jessica Rae Larson, Williamsport, business administration: marketing concentration.

Lewis H. Bardo Memorial Award, presented to a graduate who exemplifies the ideals of Lewis H. Bardo (devotion to duty, helpfulness to others, friendliness and high ideals): Marija G. Staznik, Harrisburg, hospitality management.

Lepley, Engleman and Yaw Award, presented to the graduate of the legal assistant/paralegal major with the highest grade-point average: Sarah Beth Moist, McClure, legal assistant/paralegal.

Chef Leah Chase Excellence in Hospitality Award, presented to a nontraditional graduate who demonstrates Chef Chase’s commitment to being a positive role model for the hospitality industry; work and scholastic excellence; stewardship of personal and professional resources; respect for self and others; and excellence and leadership in hospitality education: Cheryl D. Baird, South Williamsport, baking and pastry arts.

Hospitality Faculty Award, presented to a graduate who demonstrates academic achievement, exemplifies professionalism, and is committed to excellence in hospitality: Shannon N. Stalfort, Williamsport, baking and pastry arts.

Penn College Welding Faculty Award, presented to a graduate of a two- or four-year welding major who exemplifies the college philosophy of excellence: Westley A. Smith, Mifflinburg, welding and fabrication engineering technology.

Robert G. Thomas Award, presented to the graduate who has attained the highest cumulative average in welding: Michael S. Hyers, Edgewater, Md., welding technology.

A.W.S. Student Chapter Award, presented to a member of the student chapter who has shown leadership and dedication in the field of welding: Michael S. Hyers, Edgewater, Md., welding technology.

For more information about Penn College, visit online , e-mail or call toll-free 800-367-9222.

Related Stories

SGA celebrates 2020-21 lineup of all-star classmates, employees
Read more
Kendra F. Boell, physician assistant instructor, administers a vaccine to Miguel A. Callado, a construction management student residing in Williamsport. Students
Students, employees inoculated at collaborative on-campus clinic
Read more