Skip to main content
Main Penn College Website

Campus, Community Participation Honored at Awards Ceremony

Sabrena A. O'KeefeThe involvement of Pennsylvania College of Technology’s vibrant student organizations both on campus and off was spotlighted at Wednesday night’s Student Activities Awards Banquet in the Bush Campus Center.

Awards in six categories were presented during the annual ceremony, which paid tribute to active campus groups, dedicated students and supportive faculty.

Student Leader of the YearSabrena A. O’Keefe, a business administration-human resource management major from McClure, was named “Student Leader of the Year.” Ending her term as president of Penn College’s Student Government Association, she was honored “as one of the most committed and enthusiastic student leaders” at the college.

“She puts her entire heart into SGA and never settles for second best,” her nomination noted. “Sabrena dedicated countless hours of her own personal time to ensure that SGA not only met its goals, but far exceeded them.”

Phi Beta LambdaOutstanding Student Organization The college chapter of Phi Beta Lambda, the postsecondary division of the Future Business Leaders of America, was selected as the “Outstanding Student Organization.” Despite its comparably small membership, PBL participated in a majority of campus events from Red Cross Bloodmobiles to roundtable discussions with the college administration and took home this year’s coveted SGA Cup, the official barometer of students’ involvement.

“This speaks volumes to the dedication of their active members and the leadership of their Executive Board,” it was noted. “The members of PBL truly care not just about their organization, but about each other. PBL has shown school spirit and brought positive recognition to Penn College through participating in and winning awards at state and national conferences.”

Joshua W. BrunkNew Student Leader of the Year The “New Student Leader of the Year” was Joshua W. Brunk, a hospitality management major from Richmond, N.H.

“Josh attended every SGA meeting during his first semester and, as soon as he was eligible, applied to be a senator for the School of Hospitality,” according to his nomination. “He continued his perfect attendance at meetings and often went above and beyond, volunteering to take on tasks when others weren’t interested. He is only a freshmen … yet he has already demonstrated the character and dedication of a great leader.”

Most Improved Student OrganizationChosen as “Most Improved Student Organization” was one of the college’s newest: Student Wildcats of Robotic Design, which began in a Design and Production class in 2003 but quickly grew into a cross-disciplinary organization that built a Battlebot for national collegiate competition.

“S.W.O.R.D. had made major leaps and bounds this year due to new officers on the Executive Board. They have comes miles in terms of their growth as a club, as role models and as active members of the Penn College community,” a nominator wrote.

Outstanding Senator of the Year Amanda G. LeClair, a dental hygiene student from Reading, was named SGA’s “Outstanding Senator of the Year.”

“Throughout her term, Amanda collaborated well with her fellow senators and was able to earn their trust and respect,” read her endorsement. “She went above and beyond the requirements of her position, not for the recognition, but because she truly cares about Penn College.”

John G. UpcraftAdviser of the Year “Adviser of the Year” was John G. Upcraft, instructor of machine tool technology and mentor to the Society of Manufacturing Engineers.

“Since taking over as adviser, John has assisted in the growth of the organization,” his nominator related. “He is very enthusiastic and supports the members in any way that he can. John gives up his personal time to help SME achieve its goals and he has taught the members many skills that can be used both inside and outside the classroom.”

The evening also saw the swearing-in of SGA’s 2006-07 Executive Board.

Photos by Kimberly R. Henry, assistant director for student development

Members of the 2005-06 Student Government Association Executive Board are, clockwise from right front, Stefanie Beskovoyne, vice president of communications%3B Jared Hoover, vice president of internal relations%3B Sabrena A. O'Keefe, president%3B Thomas Smeal, vice president of finance%3B and Kirk M. Allen, academic vice president.SGA's 2006-07 Executive Board, clockwise from right front, is Jason Rossi, vice president of public relations%3B Patrick Butler, vice president of internal relations%3B Jamie Lear, vice president of finance%3B Kirk M. Allen, executive vice president%3B and Jim Riedel, president.

Related Stories

Diesel technology students are shown with CSTK-donated Thermo King refrigeration units at Pennsylvania College of Technology’s Schneebeli Earth Science Center. From left are Mike J. Lawson Jr., of Millville, New Jersey; Dawson F. Paulo, of Tamaqua; and Dalton I. Shearer, of New Columbia. Paulo has petitioned to graduate at the conclusion of the spring semester and begins a job with CSTK on May 17. Students
CSTK donates refrigeration units for diesel technology program
Read more
Chef, consultant and TV personality Brian Duffy (center) headlines Bacon Fest with assistance from culinary arts technology students Palin J. Hurst (left) and Charlie Suchanec. Students
Students join ‘swine and dine’ fun at brewery’s BaconFest
Read more
Spring splendor is in full bloom with this glorious line of Bradford pear trees at the Bush Campus Center.  Students
Where campus beauty is a natural fact
Read more