Skip to main content

Achievement Awards Presented to December Graduates

Pennsylvania College of Technology has presented student achievement awards to its December 2010 graduates.

The award winners, their hometowns and academic majors are:

President’s Award, presented for leadership and service to the college: Robert Joseph Zinsmeister, Williamsport, automotive technology management.

Board of Directors’ Award, presented for achievement under exceptional conditions: Ryan P. Shannon, Bethlehem, business administration-marketing.

The Academic Vice President and Provost’s Award, presented for scholastic achievement and service: Ashley A. Botts, South Williamsport, business administration-human resource management.

Lewis H. Bardo Memorial Award, presented to a graduate who exemplifies the ideals of Lewis H. Bardo (devotion to duty, helpfulness to others, friendliness and high ideals): Carla S. Flor, Elmhurst, N.Y., aviation maintenance technology.

Lycoming Law Association Award, presented to the graduate(s) of the legal assistant-paralegal associate-degree major who had the highest grade-point average and who was a Lycoming County resident prior to enrollment in and during completion of the program: Amber L. Bruno, Williamsport, legal assistant-paralegal, and Deborah A. Dougherty, Montoursville, legal assistant-paralegal.

Chef Leah Chase Excellence in Hospitality Award, presented to a nontraditional graduate who demonstrates Chef Chase’s commitment to being a positive role model for the hospitality industry, work and scholastic excellence, stewardship of personal and professional resources, respect for self and others, and excellence and leadership in hospitality education: Amber Renee Depew, Butler, culinary arts technology.

Hospitality Faculty Award, presented to a graduate who demonstrates academic achievement, exemplifies professionalism and is committed to excellence in hospitality: Ashley Nicole King, Williamsport, culinary arts technology.

Penn College Welding Faculty Award, presented to a graduate of a two- or four-year welding major who exemplifies the college philosophy of excellence: Bruce C. Barnett, Oil City, welding and fabrication engineering technology.

Robert G. Thomas Award, presented to the graduate who has attained the highest cumulative average in welding: Bryan J. Tawney, Hanover, welding technology.

American Welding Society Student Chapter Award, presented to a member of the student chapter who has shown leadership and dedication in the field of welding: William D. Badger, South Williamsport, welding technology.

Penn College Machine Shop Faculty, presented to a graduate of a two- or four-year automated manufacturing/machining/toolmaking major who exemplifies the college’s philosophy of excellence and exhibits devotion to duty, helpfulness to others and friendliness: Shawn Michael Ernst, Port Allegany, automated manufacturing technology.

Alfred L. Hauser Sr. Memorial Award, presented to a graduating student in the two-year automated manufacturing technology or four-year manufacturing engineering technology major who exemplifies the college’s philosophy of excellence: Michael J. Vandervort, Reynoldsville, manufacturing engineering technology.

Computer Aided Drafting Faculty Award, presented to a faculty-selected graduate of the computer aided drafting technology associate-degree major who has demonstrated scholastic achievement, interest in the field and potential for success in the future: Bryan M. Reich, Milton, computer aided drafting technology.

For more information about Penn College, visit online , e-mail or call toll-free 800-367-9222.

Subscribe to PCToday Daily Email.